Skip to content

Latest commit

 

History

History
68 lines (51 loc) · 2.14 KB

File metadata and controls

68 lines (51 loc) · 2.14 KB
archivedreason Outdated - Applies to TFS 2015 migration operations (end-of-life). For modern guidance, see [Steps required when migrating to the cloud](/steps-required-when-migrating-to-the-cloud).
isArchived true
authors
created 2015-08-12 15:42:01 +0000
guid 1071b5f7-6efa-4e36-9987-39c04725a008
redirects
do-you-disable-connections1
seoDescription Disable connections to prevent changes during TFS 2015 migration, ensuring data integrity and minimizing losses.
title Do you disable connections for TFS 2015 migration?
categories
category
categories/project-delivery/rules-to-better-tfs-2015-migration.mdx
type rule
uri disable-connections-tfs2015-migration

It is important that while you're upgrading, nobody can check in. Any check-ins after you backup your database will be lost.

To make sure that nobody can change anything during the upgrade, follow these steps.

a. Send out an email notifying everyone TFS will be unavailable for the upgrade period

b. Make sure nobody can check in files:

c. Open the TFS Administration Console on the server.

d. Navigate to Application Tier / Team Project Collections.

e. For each Team Project Collection, select it, and click "Stop Collection". Enter a useful message (this will be displayed to users trying to connect from Visual Studio) and click "Stop":

f. In Visual Studio, confirm you can no longer connect to TFS